firefox fix

iNANO Spring 2019 "QUANTUM" Workshop

The iNANO “QUANTUM” Spring Workshop was held at the University of Chicago’s Eckhardt Research Center on May 2. The event drew more than 80 participants from across the region. The program was a collaboration between Northwestern’s SHyNE Resource Center, University of Chicago’s Pritzker Nanofabrication Facility, NAISE, Argonne National Laboratory, Center for Nanoscale Materials, and the Chicago Quantum Exchange.

Distinguished speakers from University of Chicago, Argonne National Laboratory, and Northwestern University came together to offer a series of talks centered on exciting developments and advancements in the field of Quantum research. The workshop opened with remarks by professor Vinayak Dravid of Northwestern University and Giulia Galli from University of Chicago and Argonne National Laboratory. Keynote speakers included Dr. David Awschalom, Deputy Director of the Institute for Molecular Engineering at the University of Chicago, and a Senior Scientist at Argonne National Laboratory, Dr. Danna Freedman, Associate Professor of Chemistry at Northwestern University, and Dr. Xuedan Ma, Assistant Scientist at Argonne National Laboratory.

The event concluded with an informative panel discussion followed by an optional tour of the renowned Pritzker Nanofabrication Facility.

For information on the full program schedule, click here.

David Awscahlom
David Awschalom presenting his talk on "Quantum spintronics: controlling and connecting spins in semiconductors."


Vinayak P. Dravid introducing Danna Freedman of Northwestern University.

iNANO crowd
Full house listening to Danna Freedman's talk on "Chemistry for the Quantum Revolution".

Audience members were encouraged to engage and our speakers were happy to answer questions.

Lunch groups were organized with table heads leading topics and small group discussions.

Xuedan Ma
Xuedan Ma from Argonne presents her talk on "On demand single photo sources for distributed quantum networking."

panel speakers
A panel discussion was held and hosted by Ilke Arslan, Dieter Isheim and Vinod Kumar Sangwan.